top of page

30 Day Challenge: First Lines

**Each of these were previously posted as separate blog posts on our original site. We've combined them here for easy viewing. You may see the original posts here.

**See what's up with the First Lines Challenge before diving in!

 

Day 1

"Rain was rushing down the windshield, splashing as booming thunder shook the glass, but the only storm I could see was clouding his raging eyes."

Day 2

"Six years ago I waltzed out that door, never happier to drop top and speed away down the street, yet not one day has passed that I don't hear his haunting melody singing me to sleep."

Day 3

"The calm sway of tall grass against stone sang a slow, lonesome tune, its composer dancing among strands of tangled hair and obliviously mocking her jealousy."

Day 4

"The secretive darkness beyond the light's reach stalked her, black eyes blazing in the stillness of the night, breath drifting over sense-heightened flesh, body ready to pounce the moment she gained the courage to turn and run."

Day 5

"Deep, darkening circles told of her endlessly sleepless night-pondering and pacing, anger and confusion, fear and pain-of memories pulling her back in time and pushing me into the unknown, a stranger in my own home with similar tired, sad eyes."

Day 6

"It couldn't taste pleasant, its grainy white particles coating teeth, tongue, and cheek, lingering in the throat and staining each swallow, yet she stands grinning as though it's a permanent fixture to her diet."

Day 7

"I told her I could fly."

Day 8

"Shivering hands tore into the scarlet letter if only to drown the sound of his fading footsteps."

Day 9

"A loud screeching slid closer as she shut her eyes and slowly exhaled."

Day 10

"It shattered, the broken webs crawling toward the sole keeper that could halt its fragmentation."

Day 11

"I woke with a start, heart racing and head pounding."

Day 12

"The howling wind wrapped my body in a cold, wet cocoon as I raced down the empty street, my arms the only glue holding me together."

Day 13

"Two prancing goats dented the roof of my car."

Day 14

"As I watched the sun beat down on her shimmering skin, I knew."

Day 15

"Drizzle puddled in her long mahogany locks, chilling her exposed skin as she waited his next move."

Day 16

"I suspect she ran him down."

Day 17

"I apologize in advance for what you're about to hear."

Day 18

"She ran harder as the landscape blurred, undeterred by the sticks and stones tearing at her feet."

Day 19

"My eyes grew heavier with each rocky bump, the lump in my throat dissolving."

Day 20

"Sirens sounded all around our small cubby, their lights flashing through crack after crack."

Day 21

"It slithered toward the couch as I waited in anticipation with my cane."

Day 22

"He yanked the hilt up with all his might, slicing vein and muscle."

Day 23

"The drip drop of his sweat beat like a terrifying drum against my heart."

Day 24

"When the gas light came on, I knew I was screwed."

Day 25

"The air swirled around, wrapping her in an icy cocoon."

Day 26

"I could feel it creeping through my veins."

Day 27

"Only six more hours."

Day 28

"His body felt in slow motion, each step and turn of the head swayed his body uncontrollably until the resounding whack sobered his scrambled brain."

Day 29

"The end is coming."

Day 30

"The pressure of teeth on my neck sent tingles rippling through every inch of my flesh, my hand instinctively pushing his head closer until the familiar sting sank toward my veins."

Featured Review
Recent Posts
bottom of page